交流 + 實踐計劃
 
六組分別從事音樂、藝術、設計及塑膠升級再造等方面創意產業工作者各自前往位於內地、台灣、日本、南韓、印度或烏克蘭的自選城市/地區作深度交流。回香港後,他們各會實踐一項對社會、文化及/或環境有影響的創新計劃,並在2018年11月至2019年1月期間舉行的MaD Festival 前哨活動及國際年會中,分享他們獲得的啟發、知識和經歷。請大家密切留意!
 
 
De Tesla

獨立樂隊De Tesla相信好音樂能帶來的該不只門票銷量和掌聲。他們曾舉辦“一換一概念音樂會”,切入不同的社會議題。最近,他們希望透過音樂,推動對長者的關注。台灣之行的目標,是探索調子中帶着關懷的音樂,在不同的社群中有怎樣的迴響。

Fashion Clinic

Fashion Clinic 相信過量消費的時裝文化需要“治療”。對資源用之有道,是更可持續的品味指標。她們以創意的修改手藝,延長衣物壽命,在“季季更換、買完就掉”的“速食時裝”以外,提供另一種時尚的可能性。她們將會到日本和韓國與工匠和前膽的品牌交流,學習東亞傳統修補技術,並探索以永續發展重塑全球時裝工業的可行模式。

Gaau1 Up

Gaau1 Up 明白要處理過量廢物,升級再造並非最終解決方法;它能稍稍改善問題,更重要的是,善用資源的態度提醒人們消費前須三思。Gaau1 Up主力以土炮機器實驗於社區收集已清潔及仔細分類的塑膠,透過製作再造塑膠品推廣源頭減廢。他們將會到烏克蘭,探訪以致力研發再造機器和推行公眾教育的Precious Plastics,並將合適的技術和方法帶回香港。

摙香樓

摙香樓結合本地農產品、共融生產、工藝、文化傳統和美學,以香點綴美好生活。點一線香,不止於感官享受,縷縷青煙還盛載著豐富的人類文明。摙香樓將從“香港"去發,前往香的發源地──印度,考察各種生產模式,觀察香如何融匯於當地文化和日常生活之中。

studio WMW

銳意創造 "What Most Wanted" 的 studio WMW 希望設計可以更有意義和令人滿足。他們曾跟非牟利機構合作,透過品牌設計,令幼稚園小朋友笑逐顏開,亦為社會企業建立清新形象。在日本,他們將與優秀的設計師和建築師交流,了解他們如何以設計為小朋友塑造快樂的成長環境,並為傳統工藝賦予當代面貌,函接今天的市場。

工作・紙工作室

對於工作・紙工作室來說,“香港製造”不該只屬過去,本地生產可以發生在現在,更展望一個永續的未來。她們專門進行物料研發和服務設計,與非牟利機構及庇護工場合作,將廚餘升級再造成纖維物料。南京和山西的大學和業界在這方面擁有豐富經驗和尖端科技,工作・紙工作室將前往當地考察交流,互相學習,並探討 怎樣在不同層面創造價值。

Exchange + Incubation
 
Exchange+Incubation for Creative Industries Practitioners supports socially conscious and forward-looking creative industries practitioners to undertake immersive studies in cities/regions outside Hong Kong, explore synergies with like-minded partners and kickstart their own innovative projects in Hong Kong with social, cultural and/or ecological impact. They will also share their insights, learning and experience of the exchange and incubation projects at the pilot programmes and International Assembly of the MaD Festival.
 
 
De Tesla

De Tesla is an independent band which believes that great music should bring something more than ticket sales and a big applause. Previously they have presented barter concerts for various social causes. Currently committed to the elderly, they will travel to Taiwan to gain insights on how music can serve as a medium of care.

Fashion Clinic

Fashion Clinic believes that it is time to "cure" excessive consumption and reinvent fashion with a tastefully mindful attitude to resources. It promotes service over products, which creatively extends the lifespan of clothing. To acquire traditional mending skills in East Asia and study the potential of CLOTHING REPAIR AND REDESIGN as a sustainable model for the global fashion industry, they will go to Japan and Korea to meet with craftspeople and leading upcycling fashion brands.

Gaau1 Up

Gaau1 Up frankly acknowledges that up-cycling is not the final solution for our excessive waste. The remedy is to bring the process of up-cycling onto the table, showing the potential of recycled plastic from proper waste treatment. It is also a reminder for conscious consumption as they deal with the afterlife of the plastic wastes. Focusing on plastic waste, they experiment well-sorted plastics with self-made machines and promote waste reduction through re-making plastic. They will go to Ukraine and exchange with Precious Plastics, which runs an open laboratory for innovating recycling machines and public education, on technologies and methodologies that can be brought back to Hong Kong.

Lin Heung House

Bringing together local produce, inclusive production, craftsmanship, heritage and aesthetics, Lin Heung House makes incense a tactile expression of well-being. Incense, besides its sensory dimensions, also contains a wealth of stories about the human civilization. Departing from the "Fragrant Harbour", they will venture to India where incense originated. There they will visit various forms of production, and observe how incense is blended in the local culture and everyday life.

studio WMW

studio WMW — which stands for "what most wanted" — aspires to make design fulfilling and meaningful. They have collaborated with NGOs on projects that bring smiles on the faces of kindergarten children, and present social enterprises with fresh branding. Along these lines, they will go to Japan to exchange with exemplary designers and architects whose works give form to happy childhood, and those who make traditions appealing to contemporary users.

WORK, sheet. Studio

For Work, sheet. Studio, "made in Hong Kong" is not something that belongs to the past, but to the present and to a sustainable future. They are a specialist in material innovation and service design, and collaborate with NGOs and sheltered workshops to upcycle food waste into FiberMaterial. Their destinations are Nanjing and Shaanxi, where they will exchange with leading manufacturers and universities on cutting-edge technologies and models to generate value at multiple levels.