对谈
 
六组创意产业工作者在2018年参与MaD Festival的“交流 + 实践计划”,各自前往自选地区作深度交流。交流伙伴应邀来港,同台分享着地实践的真实挑战,延续轨道上的创意碰撞。
节目详情
惜物时尚
时间:上午11时至正午12时
主持:陈韵淇(社会设计师)
Fashion Clinic︱香港
黄琪丶林蔚彦︱创办人
两个时装设计师,蓦然结束了本来的事业——因为有感季季更换丶买完就掉的时装文化需要改变。她们创办了Fashion Clinic,给时装既有的观念彻底“治疗”。修改手艺的巧思,令旧衣物重获新生,令时尚更有质感更耐看。

在“交流 + 实践计划”中,Fashion Clinic到访日本和韩国,跟前胆品牌和工匠取经,一针一线,缝出的不单单是可持续的时尚,更是处世哲学,以及在这个年头生活的态度。
RE;CODE|首尔

RE;CODE 致力扭转主流时装界追求快时尚的运作方程式,反过来推动对环境友善的永续时尚。人弃我取,品牌由剩布入手,全主打升级再造时装,副线 RE;nano 更完全实践零废生产,进一步减少时装工业造成的浪费。

时装以外,RE;CODE 也从社会层面宣扬他们对可持续发展的信念,例如品牌曾向残疾朋友丶单亲妈妈丶北韩难民提供工作机会,助他们自力更新——透过连结不同群众,集结一股新力量。

再造生产线
时间:下午12时30分至1时30分
主持:张玮晋(升级再造设计师 )
工作・纸工作室|香港
杨诗雅、王玉玲|创办人
对于工作・纸工作室来说,“香港制造”不该只属过去,本地生产可以发生在现在,更展望一个永续的未来。她们专门进行物料研发和服务设计,与非牟利机构及庇护工场合作,研发将各式各样的废弃物升级再造成纤维物料。

工作・纸工作室的起点是大学时期的一个习作。毕业后,从前的功课发展成一番事业。在“交流 + 实践计划”中,她们与中国大陆的大学和业界交流,以新思维换来了新技术。
南京林业大学|南京
崔举庆教授|材料科学与工程学院复合材料系教授
林业是研究如何管理及善用森林资源,取之有道的一门专业。南京林业大学以林业为主,校园里设有不同的实验中心,全方位的相关学科,钻研森林与人类共生的种种大学问。

崔教授任教的材料科学与工程科,是南京林业大学一大重要学系。他对高性能木材胶黏剂尤有研究。与工作・纸工作室交流期间,他介绍了利用杨木、竹材和秸秆加工的科研技术,为她们的物料研发带来重大进展 。
跨文化感知之旅
时间:下午2时至3时
主持:急急子(叱咤903主持)
摙香楼|香港
郑志坚、许润泽 |成员
摙香楼结合本地农产品丶共融生产丶工艺丶文化传统和美学,以香点缀美好生活。点一线香,不止於感官享受,缕缕青烟还盛载着丰富的人类文明,燃点着土地丶资源丶风俗之间的微妙关系。

在“交流 + 实践计划”中,摙香楼团队从“香港"去发,前往香的发源地──印度,考察各种生产模式,观察香如何融汇於当地文化和日常生活之中。
Reality Tours & Travel︱孟买
Krishna POOJARY︱创办人
提到印度社会,你想到甚麽?这些印象是来自国际新闻丶或是宝莱坞电影?有多少与现实相乎?有多少是先入为主?

Reality Tours & Travel 在孟买和德里专营各类导赏,透过带领游客走访难以独自前往的不同角落,深入剖析背後的社会脉络,藉以打破人们对贫民窟的既有印象。他们还会把 80% 的盈利投放到另一组织Reality Gives,助弱势社区可持续发展。
自己弃 Gaau1 自己收
时间:下午3时30分至4时30分
主持:伍咏欣(香港电台第三台 节目主持人及监制 )
Gaau1 Up︱香港
郑颖臻丶朱炜杰︱核心成员
Gaau1 Up 明白要处理过量废物,升级再造并非最终解决方法;它能稍稍改善问题,更重要的是,善用资源的态度提醒人们消费前须三思。Gaau1 Up主力以土炮机器实验於社区收集已清洁及仔细分类的塑胶,透过制作再造塑胶品推广源头减废。

为了访寻区内绝无仅有丶活跃生产的Precious Plastics成员,Gaau1 Up 於“交流 + 实践计划”中远赴乌克兰,与致力研发再造机器和推行公众教育的同侪紧密交流,更将合适的技术和方法带回香港。
Precious Plastic Ukraine︱敖得萨
Eugene KHLEBNIKOV︱创办人
Precious Plastic 由荷兰设计师 Dave Hakkens 发起,他曾环游世界一年,观察不同国家的五金店售卖的零件种类,设计了一部全球通行的塑胶再造机,并开源分享,让民间也可自行回收废胶。

Eugene KHLEBNIKOV 将此项目引入了乌克兰敖得萨,他和他的团队针对当地现况,持续研发和改良各再造机器。他们正朝设立开放实验室的目标进发,亦致力推动公众教育,让大众明白弃胶也可以是珍贵的资源,源头减废。
动人的设计
时间:下午5时至6时
主持:何家珩博士(文化评论人、香港浸会大学创新服务学习中心高级服务学习顾问)
Studio WMW︱香港
王文汇︱设计总监
张伟明︱设计师
锐意创造What’s Most Wanted的Studio WMW 希望设计可以更有意义和令人满足。他们曾跟非牟利机构合作,为孩子营造快乐的成长空间丶让人品尝到有社会价值的贝殻饼丶令家家户户都能掌握视觉语言,诉说他们的「月亮故事」⋯⋯他们也透过品牌设计,为社会企业建立清新形象。

在“交流 + 实践计划”中,他们与优秀的日本设计师交流,了解他们如何以设计为社区带来幸福感丶延续传统同时带来革新,塑造更富美感的社会。

6D︱东京
木住野彰悟︱创办人

(录像分享)

兼任东京理工大学设计学系副教授的木住野彰悟(Shogo KISHINO),在日本业界享负盛名,於2007年创立平面设计及艺术创作工作室6D。6D 专於不同的设计范畴,如视觉识别系统丶包装设计丶品牌设计丶日语称作 "信号计划" 的建筑物资讯设计等。

6D 亦经常参与大型项目,近年代表作包括为三得利(Suntory)的企业社会责任活动——Line of Life Project 作策划及艺术指导,用传统风筝推广雀鸟保育。

木住野彰悟不认为设计可解决任何事情,但今时今日,和设计有关的事物增加了,跟以前只专注设计的做法不同,所以 "我们不得不成为了解各种问题的设计师"。

E: madfestival@mad.asia  T: +852 3996 1953

Exchange
 
Supported by the “Exchange+Incubation” scheme of MaD Festival, 6 teams of creative industry practitioners set out on research trips to their selected destinations in 2018. Their exchange partners are invited to join them in Hong Kong for sharing on their grounded endeavours. These are not just “success stories” – hear their first-hand experiences on what it takes to make a difference with the creative industries in Asia.
Programme Details
Fashionably Sustainable
Time: 11:00 AM – 12:00 NN
Moderator: Kay CHAN (Social Designer)
Fashion Clinic | Hong Kong
WONG Kay & LAM Wai-yin|Founders
Two fashion designers determinedly ended what they have previously established — because they thought consumption-driven fast fashion is sick. They founded Fashion Clinic to give the concept of fashion a total makeover. With thoughtful repairs and redesign, they give old clothes a second life and fashion a sustainable way forward.

During their “Exchange+Incubation”, Fashion Clinic met with leading brands and craftspeople in Japan and Korea. What they have gained was not only new know-how for fixing fashion, but a philosophy of life and an outlook for our time.
RE;CODE | Seoul
Heeyeon Lena CHOI|Merchandiser
Sujin KIM|Designer

RE;CODE strives to give fast fashion a twist and promotes sustainable fashion. The brand takes the garments that are not chosen by customer as its materials for stylish collections of upcycled clothes. RE;nano, a sub brand, practices zero-waste production to further reduce the footprint of manufacturing.

In addition to fashion, RE;CODE also promotes sustainability on different fronts. For instance, it provides an opportunity for talented people with intellectual disability, single mothers, North Korean refugees to work and learn and helps their self-reliance.

Recycling Line
Time: 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM
Moderator: Kelvin CHEUNG (Upcycling Designer)
Work, sheet. Studio | Hong Kong
Car YEUNG & Jade WONG | Founders
To Work, sheet. Studio, “made in Hong Kong” does not belong to the past, but is presently relevant for a sustainable future. They specialize on material research and service design, and work with NGOs and sheltered workshops to transform “trash” into fibre materials.

Starting from a university course assignment, Work, sheet. Studio has grown into a thriving business. During their “Exchange+Incubation”, they built connections with universities and industry players in Mainland China, and are expecting to turn their interflow of new ideas and technologies into future collaborations.
Nanjing Forestry University | Nanjing
Prof CUI Juqing | Professor, Department of Compound Materials of Biomass, College of Materials Science and Engineering
Forestry is a cross-disciplinary inquiry into the use of forest resources. Nanjing Forestry University is a specialist and takes a holistic approach to people’s coexistence with forests.

Professor Cui is an expert in material science and material engineering. He has done extensive research on adhesive for wood. During the exchange with Work, sheet. Studio, his technological recommendations were pivotal to a major breakthrough in their work.
A Journey Across Cultures

Time: 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Moderator: Amber AU (DJ, Commercial Radio)
Lin Heung House | Hong Kong
CHENG Chi-kin & HUI Yun-chak | members
Bringing together local produce, inclusive production, craftsmanship, heritage and aesthetics, Lin Heung House makes incense a tactile expression of well-being. Besides sensory experiences, incense also conjures upon a wealth of human civilisation. In the dissipating smoke, land, resources and folk traditions intertwine.

Departing from the "Fragrant Harbour", they ventured to India where incense originated. There they visited various forms of production, and observed how incense was blended in the local culture and everyday life.
Reality Tours & Travel | Mumbai
Krishna POOJARY|Co-founder
What do you have in mind when you think about the Indian societies? Does your impression come from international news or Bollywood? Is it accurate? Or is it prejudice?

Reality Tours & Travel takes visitors around Mumbai and Delhi through various types of tours, and guides them to places where outsiders are normally lost on their own. The tours give visitors insider’s perspectives on the social contexts, and replace misconceptions with a deeper understanding. 80% of their profits is contributed to the NGO Reality Gives that works for the underprivileged communities.
Save Your Own Plastics
Time: 3:30 PM – 4:30 PM
Moderator: Noreen MIR (Presenter and Producer, RTHK Radio 3)
Gaau1 Up | Hong Kong
CHENG Wing-chun & CHU Wai-kit|Core Members
Gaau1 Up frankly acknowledges that up-cycling is not the final solution for our excessive waste. The remedy is to bring the process of up-cycling onto the table, showing the potential of recycled plastic from proper waste treatment. It is also a reminder for conscious consumption as they deal with the afterlife of the plastic wastes. Focusing on plastic waste, they experiment well-sorted plastics with self-made machines and promote waste reduction through re-making plastic.

In search of active Precious Plastic members in the region, Gaau1 Up ventured to Ukraine. There they worked closely with fellow makers and advocates, and have taken home technologies for adaptation.
Precious Plastic Ukraine | Odessa
Eugene KHLEBNIKOV|Founder
Precious Plastic is a movement initiated by Dutch designer Dave Hakkens. He spent a year researching on parts in hardware stores around the world, and designed a world-wide applicable plastic upcycling machine for open-source local adaptation.

Eugene KHLEBNIKOV brought they movement to Ukraine and keeps inventing new machines. They have plans for an open laboratory, and are striving to promote waste reduction through public education.
Design that Touches

Time: 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM
Moderator: Dr Jason HO (Cultural Critic, Senior Service-Learning Consultant, Centre for Innovative Service-Learning, Hong Kong Baptist University)
Studio WMW | Hong Kong
Sunny WONG | Design Director
Ming CHEUNG | Designer
Studio WMW—which stands for What’s Most Wanted — aspires to make design fulfilling and meaningful. In previous collaborations with NGOs, they have created joyful environments for kindergarten children, prototyped madeleines with a taste of social inclusion, enabled families to share their homely tales with communicative visuals, and presented social enterprises with fresh rebranding, etc.

During their “Exchange+Incubation”, they met with exemplary Japanese designers whose works bring joy to communities, connects traditions to contemporary users, reinvented aesthetics and make a sense of beauty available to all.

6D | Tokyo
Shogo KISHINO | Founder

(Video sharing)

Shogo KISHINO is a renowned designer in Japan. He is Associate Professor at the School of Design of Tokyo University of Science, and heads graphic design and art studio 6D, which he founded in 2007. 6D specialises on a range of design areas, such as visual identity, packaging, branding and architecture information design, which is called "sign project" in Japanese.

6D frequently takes part in large-scale projects. Recent trademark projects include Line of Life Project, a CSR activity of Suntory, in which the tradition of kite-flying was incorporated in a campaign for bird preservation.

To Shogo KISHINO, design is not the solution to everything. Nevertheless, while more and more is related to design today, designers cannot only focus on design anymore. "We have to become designers who understand all sorts of problems."

E: madfestival@mad.asia  T: +852 3996 1953